Established in 1961, the CSRA Regional Commission provides a wide variety of services its 13 member counties and their 40+ cities. The activities of the Regional Commission are authorized under the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) 50-8-31 et. al. and include serving as the region's planning agency for State of Georgia agencies, operating as the Area Agency on Aging, and providing services deemed appropriate by the Commission's Council.

Over the past 50 years, the Regional Commission (formerly the Area Planning and Development Commission and the Regional Development Center) has served as the convener of the region by enabling local governments to overcome political boundaries to capitalize on the area's natural, historical, and demographic assets. Through the Commission's presence, local governments are able to work together to improve living conditions, create and retain jobs, and protect access, both economically and recreationally, to the region's vast natural resources.

The Commission is governed by a Council, which is currently made up of 46 members. The Council establishes policy and approves the agency's operating budget and annual work program. Under direction of the Council, the Commission's Executive Director, oversees the day-to-day operations of the Commission and its staff.